$1.66 Million to the Winner! The 2017 HSBC Champions #PGATOUR

2017 World Golf Championships HSBC Champions

Dates: October 26-29, 2017

Where: Shanghai, China

Course: Sheshan International Golf Club

Par/yardage: Par 72/ 7,266

Purse: $9.75 million ($1.66 million to the winner)

FedExCup Points: 550 to the winner

Format: 72-hole stroke play (no cut)

Defending Champion: Hideki Matsuyama (Japan)

The HSBC Champions was created in November 2005

Past Champions:

 2005 David Howell

2006 Y.E. Yang

2007 Phil Mickelson

2008 Sergio Garcia

2009 Phil Mickelson

2010 Francesco Molinari

2011 Martin Kaymer

2012 Ian Poulter

2014 Dustin Johnson

2015 Bubba Watson

2016 Russell Knox

2017 Hideki Matsuyama

 The World Golf Championships-HSBC Champions is one in a series of four World Golf Championships events including the Mexico Championship (Mexico City, Mexico), the Dell Technologies Match Play (Austin, Texas), and the Bridgestone Invitational (Akron, Ohio).

 The title holders of four current World Golf Championships tournaments in the 2016-2017 PGA TOUR season are Hideki Matsuyama (HSBC Champions and Bridgestone Invitational) and Dustin Johnson (Mexico Championship & Dell Technologies Match Play).

2016 Highlights

Hideki Matsuyama began the final round with a three-shot lead over Russell Knox, matching Dustin Johnson’s 2013 lead as the largest 54-hole lead in tournament history. He made six birdies and no bogeys on Sunday to win by seven shots. Matsuyama shot 23-under-par playing the final 45 holes bogey-free.

Hideki’s seven-shot win is the largest margin of victory in HSBC Champions history, the previous record of three shots was set by Martin Kaymer in 2011 and tied by Dustin Johnson in 2013.


Notables in the 2017 HSBC Championships Field

Dustin Johnson

World No. 1 and five time WGC event winner, Dustin Johnson returns to the WGC-HSBC Champions as a past champion of the event. DJ won in 2013 setting the tournament record of 24-under-par 264. In the 2016-17 PGA TOUR season, Johnson won two World Golf Championship events, the WGC-Mexico Championship and WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play Championship.With his win at the Dell Technologies Match Play, he became the first player to win each of the four World Golf Championships events, completing the ‘WGC Slam’. Johnson, making his first appearance in the 2017-18 PGA TOUR season at the WGC-HSBC Champions has now won at least one PGA TOUR event in 10 consecutive seasons, dating back to his rookie season in 2008, the longest active streak on TOUR.

Hideki Matsuyama

Hideki Matsuyama, the defending champion of the WGC-HSBC Champions ,  is currently ranked No. 4 in the Official World Golf Ranking, won two WGC events in 2016/17,  HSBC Champions and WGC Bridgestone Invitational. Matsuyama entered the FedExCup Playoffs in the lead subsequently finishing number eighth in the final standings.

Matsuyama finished strong in the 2017 majors T12 in the Masters, T2 in the U.S. Open, T14 at the Open Championship and T5 at the PGA.

Jason Day

A 10-time winner on the PGA TOUR and former No. 1 player in the world, Jason Day will be making his debut at the WGC-HSBC Champions this year. Day’s 10 PGA TOUR victories include two World Golf Championships events the 2014 World Golf Championships-Dell Technologies Match Play, 2016 World Golf Championships-Dell Technologies Match Play

Brooks Koepka

Brooks Koepka the 2017 U.S. Open Champion, will be making his second appearance at the WGC-HSBC Champions. He finished T40 finish in 2016. Koepka, ranked No. 11 WGR, holds one win on the European Tour, the 2014 Turkish Airlines Open, and 2016 Dunlop Phoenix in Japan.

Henrik Stenson

With 13 international victories and playing in the WGC-HSBC Champions for the seventh time me in his career, the Swedish golfer will be looking to add a second World Golf Championships victory to his 2007 win at the Dell Match Play. Stenson finishing tied for second and 7 shots behind Hideki Matsuyama in the 2016 HSBC Champions.  Ranked 8th in the world, Stenson represented his country in the Olympic Games in Rio in 2016 and became the only Swiss professional male golfer to win a major with his remarkable battle with Phil Mickelson in the 145th Open Championship at Royal Troon.

Justin Rose

Justin Rose will be making his first appearance at the WGC-HSBC Champions since 2015. He finished 5th in 2014 and T7 in 2011. During the 2016-17 PGA TOUR season, Justin Rose had eight top-10s, including runner-up finish at the Masters Tournament where he lost in a playoff to Sergio Garcia, his sixth top-10 at the Masters. Rose won the Olympic gold medal in Rio de Janeiro in 2016 where he birdied the final hole to win by two strokes over Sweden’s Henrik Stenson. Rosie also made history when he recorded the first hole-in-one in since golf’s return to the Olympics.

Phil Mickelson

42-time PGA TOUR winner, Phil Mickelson won the event in 2007 and 2009. After representing the U.S. Team in the Presidents Cup, Phil “The Trill” has played every Ryder Cup and Presidents Cup teams since 1994. Mickelson went on to finish T3 in the Safeway Open, coming in three shots behind back to back winner Brendan Steele.

Li Haotong

Li Haotong finished in third place at The Open Championship at Royal Birkdale the highest finish ever in a major championship by a player from China.


Quality golf clubs at unreal prices. “Pull the Pin!”

Quality golf clubs at unreal prices. “Pull the Pin!”


Tournament Field Notes:

10 from the Final 2016-17 FedExCup Standings:

Xander Schauffele (3)

Dustin Johnson (4)

Jon Rahm (5)

Marc Leishman (6)

Hideki Matsuyama (8)

Justin Rose (9)

Brooks Koepka (10)

Top 10 in the OWG Ranking:

Dustin Johnson (1)

Hideki Matsuyama (4)

Jon Rahm (5)

Jason Day (8)

Henrik Stenson (9)

Major Championship Winners:

Phil Mickelson (5)

Jason Day (1)

Dustin Johnson (1)

Brooks Koepka (1)

Louis Oosthuizen (1)

Justin Rose (1)

Charl Schwartzel (1)

 Adam Scott (1)

Henrik Stenson (1)

9 World Golf Championships Winners:

Dustin Johnson (5)

Jason Day (2)

Hideki Matsuyama (2)

Adam Scott (2)

Matt Kuchar (1)

Phil Mickelson (1)

Patrick Reed (1)

Justin Rose (1)

Henrik Stenson (1)


Past HSBC Champions:

Hideki Matsuyama – 2016

Dustin Johnson – 2013

Francesco Molinari – 2010

Phil Mickelson – 2009

28 players will make their HSBC Champions debut this week with 16 of those playing in their first World Golf  Championships event.



“Making a positive change in the life of a child is one of the most significant things you can do.”- Arnold Palmer