Press Release: USGA, 2018 U.S. Open Entries


USGA Accepts More Than 9,000 U.S. Open Entries
for Seventh Consecutive Year

Multiple winners Tiger Woods and Ernie Els are among 12 past champions exempt
for the 118th championship at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club


LIBERTY CORNER, N.J. (April 26, 2018) – The United States Golf Association (USGA) has accepted a total of 9,049 entries for the 2018 U.S. Open Championship at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club in Southampton, N.Y. The U.S. Open will be held on Long Island for the 10th time on June 14-17.

The number of entries is the eighth-highest behind the record of 10,127 accepted for the 2014 U.S. Open at Pinehurst Resort & Country Club’s Course No. 2. Among this year’s total are 54 players, including 12 past champions, who are fully exempt into the field (see list below).

The USGA accepted entries for the 118th U.S. Open from golfers in all 50 states, including 408 from New York, as well as the District of Columbia and 80 foreign countries.

“The continued worldwide interest in competing in the U.S. Open Championship, golf’s ultimate test, remains significant,” said Stuart Francis, USGA Championship Committee chairman. “We look forward to conducting local and sectional qualifying and to hosting the U.S. Open at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club, one of the five founding members of the USGA, for the fifth time.”

Brooks Koepka, the 2017 champion, and 11 other champions are fully exempt from having to qualify for the championship. They are: Ernie Els (1994, 1997), Jim Furyk (2003), Lucas Glover (2009), Dustin Johnson (2016), Martin Kaymer (2014), Graeme McDowell (2010), Rory McIlroy (2011), Justin Rose (2013), Webb Simpson (2012), Jordan Spieth (2015) and Tiger Woods (2000, 2002, 2008).

To be eligible, a player must have a Handicap Index® not exceeding 1.4, or be a professional. Local qualifying, which will be played over 18 holes at 111 sites in the United States and one in Canada, will take place between April 30-May 17.

Sectional qualifying, played over 36 holes, will be conducted on Monday, May 21, in Japan; and on Monday, June 4, in England and at 10 sites in the United States, ranging from New Jersey to California. This will be the 14th year with two international qualifiers, which were established in 2005.

Shinnecock Hills Golf Club is the lone club to have hosted the U.S. Open in three different centuries. In 1896, James Foulis won the second U.S. Open with a three-stroke victory over Horace Rawlins. Raymond Floyd (1986) and Corey Pavin (1995) were U.S. Open champions in the 20th century. Retief Goosen held off Phil Mickelson to win his second U.S. Open in 2004.

For the eighth consecutive year, only online entries were accepted. The USGA received 515 entries on the last day applications were accepted (April 25), including 115 applications in the final hour. Drew Caudill, a 32-year-old professional from Mount Vernon, Ohio, submitted his entry just 23 seconds before the deadline of 5 p.m. EDT. Kyle Nakazaki, a 38-year-old professional from Manhattan Beach, Calif., was the first entrant when entries opened on March 7.

The number of fully exempt players will increase with the inclusion of the top 60 point leaders and ties from the Official World Golf Ranking®, as of May 21 and June 11. The winners of The Players Championship (May 10-13) and European Tour BMW PGA Championship (May 24-27) will also earn exemptions.

In 2018, the USGA accepted more than 9,000 entries for the U.S. Open for the 10th time overall and the seventh consecutive year. The 9,882 entries accepted for the 2015 championship at Chambers Bay in University Place, Wash., is the second-most behind the 2014 championship at Pinehurst No. 2. The USGA accepted 9,877 entries for the 2016 U.S. Open at Oakmont (Pa.) Country Club, and 9,860 for the 2013 U.S. Open at Merion Golf Club in Ardmore, Pa. The 9,000-mark was reached for the first time in 2005, when 9,048 entries were accepted for the championship at Pinehurst No. 2.


More information about the 2018 U.S. Open at Shinnecock Hills, including local and sectional qualifying, is available at


The list of the 54 golfers who are fully exempt into the 2018 U.S. Open (as of April 25):


Daniel BergerMatt Kuchar
Patrick CantlayMarc Leishman
Paul CaseyHideki Matsuyama
Kevin ChappellGraeme McDowell
Jason DayRory McIlroy
Jason DufnerPhil Mickelson
a-Harry EllisTrey Mullinax
Ernie Elsa-Matt Parziale
Tony FinauPat Perez
Tommy FleetwoodKenny Perry
Rickie FowlerJon Rahm
Jim Furyka-Doc Redman
Sergio GarciaPatrick Reed
a-Doug GhimJustin Rose
Lucas GloverXander Schauffele
a-Noah GoodwinWebb Simpson
Bill HaasBrandt Snedeker
Adam HadwinJordan Spieth
Brian HarmanKyle Stanley
Russell HenleyHenrik Stenson
Charley HoffmanJustin Thomas
Dustin JohnsonJhonattan Vegas
Zach JohnsonJimmy Walker
Martin KaymerBubba Watson
Si Woo KimDanny Willett
Kevin KisnerGary Woodland
Brooks KoepkaTiger Woods

Bold – U.S. Open champion      a-amateur


About the USGA

The USGA celebrates, serves and advances the game of golf. Founded in 1894, we conduct many of golf’s premier professional and amateur championships, including the U.S. Open and U.S. Women’s Open. With The R&A, we govern the sport via a global set of playing, equipment and amateur status rules. Our operating jurisdiction for these governance functions is the United States, its territories and Mexico. The USGA Handicap System is utilized in more than 40 countries and our Course Rating System covers 95 percent of the world’s golf courses, enabling all golfers to play on an equitable basis. The USGA campus in Liberty Corner, New Jersey, is home to the Association’s Research and Test Center, where science and innovation are fueling a healthy and sustainable game for the future. The campus is also home to the USGA Golf Museum, where we honor the game by curating the world’s most comprehensive archive of golf artifacts. To learn more, visit