Press Release: USGA, 73rd U.S. Women’s Open Championship


USGA Accepts Nearly 1,600 Entries for 73rd U.S. Women’s Open Championship

11 Past U.S. Women’s Open champions set to compete

LIBERTY CORNER, N.J. (April 27, 2018) – The United States Golf Association (USGA) has accepted 1,592 entries for the 73rd U.S. Women’s Open Championship, which will be conducted May 31-June 3, 2018, at Shoal Creek in Alabama. It will be the first U.S. Women’s Open contested in Alabama, and it’s just the third time in its history that the U.S. Women’s Open will be played prior to the U.S. Open.

This marks the fifth consecutive year the U.S. Women’s Open has received more than 1,500 entries. The 2015 championship at Lancaster (Pa.) Country Club holds the entry record with 1,873. Eleven U.S. Women’s Open champions are among the 93 players who are currently fully exempt into the championship.


“We are excited to see such a strong group of entrants from around the world for the 73rd U.S. Women’s Open Championship,” said Shannon Rouillard, championship director. “To host Alabama’s first U.S. Women’s Open is a historic moment for the USGA and the state of Alabama, and to have such a strong field represented in the championship is fitting.”


The USGA accepted entries for the 73rd U.S. Women’s Open from golfers in 46 states, 11 entrants from Alabama among them, as well as the District of Columbia and a total of 54 countries.


To be eligible for the U.S. Women’s Open, a player must have a Handicap Index® not exceeding 2.4, or be a professional. Sectional qualifying will be conducted over 36 holes between May 2-17. Qualifying will be held at 21 sites in the United States, as well as four international sites: one each in England, Japan, the People’s Republic of China and the Republic of Korea.


Sung Hyun Park, of Korea, who won the 2017 U.S. Women’s Open at Trump National Golf Club in Bedminster, N.J., is one of 11 fully exempt U.S. Women’s Open champions. Park is joined by Brittany Lang (2016), In Gee Chun (2015), Michelle Wie (2014), Inbee Park (2013, 2008), Na Yeon Choi (2012), So Yeon Ryu (2011), Paula Creamer (2010), Eun-Hee Ji (2009), Cristie Kerr (2007) and Karrie Webb (2001, 2000).


This will be the third USGA championship conducted at Shoal Creek. In 1986, Stewart “Buddy” Alexander won the U.S. Amateur Championship, defeating Chris Kite, 5 and 3, in the final. In 2008, Cameron Peck captured the U.S. Junior Amateur, and his 10-and-8 victory over Evan Beck stands as the largest winning margin in Junior Amateur championship-match history.


The championship’s youngest entrant is 11-year-old Avery Zweig, of McKinney, Texas. She will attempt to qualify at the sectional qualifying site in Westminster, Colo., on May 14. Laura Baugh is the championship’s oldest entrant at age 62. She will attempt to qualify at the sectional qualifying site in New Smyrna Beach, Fla., on May 4.


Catriona Matthew, a 48-year-old professional from Scotland, was the first to apply when entries opened on March 7. The final entry came from Tori Peers, a 22-year-old amateur, of Grand Island, Neb., who filed 27 minutes before the 5 p.m. EDT deadline on April 25.


Players still have several opportunities to gain a full exemption into the U.S. Women’s Open. The winner of any LPGA co-sponsored events prior to the start of the U.S. Women’s Open, including this weekend’s inaugural LPGA Mediheal Championship in Daly City, Calif., will earn exemptions into the championship field. Additionally, any player in the top 50 point leaders and ties from the Rolex Rankings as of May 27 not already exempt will be added to the field.


More information about the U.S. Women’s Open, including a variety of ticket options, is available at


The following 93 golfers are fully exempt into the 2018 U.S. Women’s Open (as of April 27):

Marina Alex Megan Khang Haru Nomura
Brittany Altomare Sei Young Kim Anna Nordqvist
Ashleigh Buhai Jihyun Kim Su-Hyun Oh
Pei-Yun Chien Hyojoo Kim Ryann O’Toole
Chella Choi In-Kyung Kim Jane Park
Hye-Jin Choi Katherine Kirk Inbee Park
Na Yeon Choi Jinyoung Ko Sung Hyun Park
a-Kelsey Chugg Lydia Ko Pornanong Phatlum
In Gee Chun Jessica Korda So Yeon Ryu
Carlota Ciganda Nelly Korda Madelene Sagstrom
Cydney Clanton Olafia Kristinsdottir Lizette Salas
Jacqui Concolino Candie Kung Supamas Sangchan
Paula Creamer Brittany Lang a-Sophia Schubert
Austin Ernst Saranporn Langkulgasettrin Alena Sharp
Jodi Ewart Shadoff Nicole Broch Larsen a-Erica Shepherd
Shanshan Feng Minjee Lee Jenny Shin
Sandra Gal Gonzalez Jeongeun Lee Sarah Jane Smith
Laura Escallon Jeongeun6 Lee Jennifer Song
Georgia Hall Mi Hyang Lee Klara Spilkova
Nasa Hataoka Mirim Lee Angela Stanford
Brooke Henderson Minyoung Lee Ai Suzuki
Wei-Ling Hsu Solar Lee Lexi Thompson
Charley Hull Stacy Lewis Ayako Uehara
Mi Jung Hur Brittany Lincicome a-Albane Valenzuela
Karine Icher Pernilla Lindberg Anne Van Dam
Eun Hee Ji Gaby Lopez Karrie Webb
Ariya Jutanugarn Teresa Lu Michelle Wie
Moriya Jutanugarn Mo Martin Jing Yan
Danielle Kang Caroline Masson Amy Yang
Kim Kaufman Ally McDonald Angel Yin
Cristie Kerr Azahara Munoz Sun Young Yoo


Bold – U.S. Women’s Open champion   

a – amateur


About the USGA

The USGA celebrates, serves and advances the game of golf. Founded in 1894, we conduct many of golf’s premier professional and amateur championships, including the U.S. Open and U.S. Women’s Open. With The R&A, we govern the sport via a global set of playing, equipment and amateur status rules. Our operating jurisdiction for these governance functions is the United States, its territories and Mexico. The USGA Handicap System is utilized in more than 40 countries and our Course Rating System covers 95 percent of the world’s golf courses, enabling all golfers to play on an equitable basis. The USGA campus in Liberty Corner, New Jersey, is home to the Association’s Research and Test Center, where science and innovation are fueling a healthy and sustainable game for the future. The campus is also home to the USGA Golf Museum, where we honor the game by curating the world’s most comprehensive archive of golf artifacts. To learn more, visit