Press Release: USGA World’s Best Set To Compete In 74th U.S. Women’s Open Championship

13 champions to take on Country Club of Charleston May 30-June 2


LIBERTY CORNER, N.J. (April 18, 2019) – Thirteen past champions and 47 of the top 50 players in the world are among those entered in the 74th U.S. Women’s Open Championship, which will be conducted by the United States Golf Association from May 30-June 2, 2019, at the Country Club of Charleston in Charleston, S.C. Championship entries closed at 5 p.m. EDT on Wednesday, April 17.


“We are excited to see such a strong group of entrants from around the world for the 74th U.S. Women’s Open Championship,” said Shannon Rouillard, senior director, Championships for the USGA. “We can’t wait to see the game’s best take on this fantastic Seth Raynor-designed golf course, which we know will provide the ultimate test of golf and thrill fans from around the world.”


This marks the sixth consecutive year the U.S. Women’s Open has received more than 1,500 entries, with the USGA accepting 1,552 entries for this year’s championship. The 2015 championship at Lancaster (Pa.) Country Club holds the entry record with 1,873. The USGA accepted entries from golfers in 47 states, 32 entrants from South Carolina among them, and a total of 62 countries.


To be eligible for the U.S. Women’s Open, a player must have a Handicap Index® not exceeding 2.4, or be a professional. Sectional qualifying will be conducted over 36 holes between April 22-May 8. Qualifying will be held at 21 sites in the United States, as well as four international sites: one each in England, Japan, the People’s Republic of China and the Republic of Korea.


Ariya Jutanugarn, of Thailand, who won the 2018 U.S. Women’s Open at Shoal Creek in Birmingham, Ala., is one of the 13 fully exempt U.S. Women’s Open champions. Jutanugarn is joined by Sung Hyun Park (2017), Brittany Lang (2016), In Gee Chun (2015), Michelle Wie (2014), Inbee Park (2013, 2008), Na Yeon Choi (2012), So Yeon Ryu (2011), Paula Creamer (2010), Eun-Hee Ji (2009), Cristie Kerr (2007), Karrie Webb (2001, 2000) and Laura Davies (1987), who earned an exemption based on her victory in the inaugural U.S. Senior Women’s Open last July.


Two-time U.S. Women’s Open champion Karrie Webb, of Australia, has accepted a special exemption into the championship. Webb, 44, won the 2000 U.S. Women’s Open at The Merit Club in Gurnee, Ill., defeating Kerr and Meg Mallon by five strokes. In 2001, Webb defeated Se Ri Pak by eight strokes at Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club in Southern Pines, N.C., to become the 12th player to win multiple U.S. Women’s Opens. Webb’s 23 consecutive Women’s Opens entering this year is the longest active streak. Webb received a special exemption into the championship last year, when she missed the cut at Shoal Creek. She is a 41-time winner on the LPGA Tour and 15-time winner on the Ladies European Tour.


Brittany Lincicome, currently No. 37 in the Rolex Women’s World Golf Rankings, and Sarah Jane Smith, who tied for fifth in last year’s championship at Shoal Creek, have chosen to take advantage of the U.S. Women’s Open’s family-friendly Maternity Extension Opportunity, and will defer their exemptions until the 2020 championship at Champions Golf Club in Houston, Texas.


This will be the second USGA championship conducted at the Country Club of Charleston. In 2013, Emma Talley defeated Yueer Cindy Feng, 1 up, to win the U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship. Talley is among the 100 players who are currently fully exempt into the championship, as are Gerina Mendoza and Suzann Pettersen, who chose to defer their 2018 exemptions to 2019, per the maternity opportunity.


The championship’s youngest entrant is 11-year-old Seojin Park, of the Republic of Korea. She will attempt to qualify at the sectional qualifying site in Incheon, Korea, on April 25. Avery Zweig, 12, of McKinney, Texas, will try to qualify in Maple Grove, Minn., on May 7. Laura Baugh, 63, is the championship’s oldest entrant. She will attempt to qualify inBradenton, Fla., on May 6.


Celine Herbin, a 36-year-old professional from France, was the first to apply when entries opened on Feb. 20. The final entry came from Sana Tufail, a 22-year-old amateur from England, who filed three minutes before the 5 p.m. EDT deadline on April 17.


Players still have several opportunities to gain a full exemption into the U.S. Women’s Open. The winner of any LPGA co-sponsored event prior to the start of the U.S. Women’s Open, including this weekend’s Lotte Championship in Oahu, Hawaii, will earn an exemption into the championship field. Additionally, any player in the top 50 point leaders and ties from the Rolex Rankings as of May 27 who is not already exempt will be added to the field.


More information about the U.S. Women’s Open, including a variety of ticket options, is available


The following 100 golfers are fully exempt into the 2019 U.S. Women’s Open (as of April 18):


Marina AlexMoriya JutanugarnAnna Nordqvist
Brittany AltomareDanielle KangJi Hyun Oh
Aditi AshokHaeji KangSu Hyun Oh
Celine BoutierSarah KempAmy Olson
Ashleigh BuhaiCristie KerrRyann O’Toole
Pei-Yun ChienMegan KhangAnnie Park
Chella ChoiHyojoo KimInbee Park
Hyejin ChoiIn-Kyung KimJane Park
Na Yeon ChoiJihyun KimSung Hyun Park
In Gee ChunSei Young KimSuzann Pettersen
Carlota CigandaKatherine KirkPornanong Phatlum
Jacqui ConcolinoJinyoung KoSo Yeon Ryu
Paula CreamerLydia KoLizette Salas
Laura DaviesJessica KordaSupmas Sangchan
Lindy DuncanNelly KordaJenny Shin
Austin ErnstBrittany LangJiyai Shin
Jodi Ewart ShadoffSaranporn LangkulgasettrinJennifer Song
Shanshan FengBronte LawMariah Stackhouse
Sandra GalJeongeun LeeAngela Stanford
Hannah GreenMi Hyang LeeJasmine Suwannapura
Jaye Marie GreenMinjee LeeAi Suzuki
Jenny HaglundMirim LeeEmma Talley
Georgia HallSoyoung Leea-Patty Tavatanakit
a-Leonie HarmJeongeun Lee6Pannarat Thanapolboonyaras
Nasa HataokaPernilla LindbergLexi Thompson
Caroline HedwallYu LiuAyako Uehara
Brooke HendersonYan LiuAnne Van Dam
Mamiko HigaGaby LopezKarrie Webb
Wei-Ling HsuMo MartinMichelle Wie
Charley HullCaroline MassonAmy Yang
a-Jiwon JeonAlly McDonaldAngel Yin
Eun Hee JiGerina MendozaSakura Yokomine
a-Shannon JohnsonAzahara Munoz
Ariya JutanugarnMisuzu Narita


Bold – U.S. Women’s Open champion  

a – amateur


About the USGA
The USGA celebrates, serves and advances the game of golf. Founded in 1894, we conduct many of golf’s premier professional and amateur championships, including the U.S. Open and U.S. Women’s Open. With The R&A, we govern the sport via a global set of playing, equipment and amateur status rules. Our operating jurisdiction for these governance functions is the United States, its territories and Mexico. The USGA Handicap System is utilized in more than 40 countries and our Course Rating System covers 95 percent of the world’s golf courses, enabling all golfers to play on an equitable basis. The USGA campus in Liberty Corner, New Jersey, is home to the Association’s Research and Test Center, where science and innovation are fueling a healthy and sustainable game for the future. The campus is also home to the USGA Golf Museum, where we honor the game by curating the world’s most comprehensive archive of golf artifacts. To learn more, visit