Tony Jacklin Signature Golf Balls #GolfCollecting


The Tony Jacklin “Britisher” by Ajay Golf Products, Circa 1970.

This signature golf ball is list on page 36 of Biocini’s guide and dated 1965. Tony Jacklin didn’t win his first major championship until 1969 and the Ajay Golf Products Company did not register their trademark until 1967, leading me to believe these golf balls were produced around 1970.

Tony Jacklin True Sphere by Ajay circa 1970

Again, these golf balls are listed as circa 1967, I feel they are a few years later. Although the “TruSphere” golf trade mark was registered by the Dearborn Gage Company in 1964, no information on Ajay Golf producing golf balls at that time could be found in my research.


About Tony Jacklin

Tony Jacklin became the first player since Ben Hogan to hold the U.S. and British Open titles simultaneously after winning the 98th Open Championship at Royal Lytham & St Anne’s Golf Club in 1969 and 1970 U.S. Open Hazeltine in Minnesota.

 “He was looking at the big picture, and that’s how Jack’s mind worked. That is why he was the champion that he was. He was always a great sport.”

— Tony Jacklin

Professional Majors: 2

U.S. Open: 1970

Open Championship: 1969

PGA Tour Wins: 2

1968: Greater Jacksonville Open

1970: Greater Jacksonville Open

Champions Tour Wins: 2

1994: First of America Classic

1995: Franklin Quest Championship

European Tour Wins: 8

1972: Viyella PGA Championship

1973: Italian Open, Dunlop Masters

1974: Scandinavian Enterprise Open

1976: Kerrygold International Classic

1979: Braun German Open

1981: Billy Butlin Jersey Open

1982: Sun Alliance PGA Championship

Other Wins: 14

1964: Coombe Hill Assistants

1965: Forest Products Tournament

1966: Kimberley Tournament

1967: New Zealand PGA Championship, Pringle Tournament, Dunlap Masters

1970: W.D. & H.O. Tournament, Lancome Trophy

1971: Benson and Hedges Festival

1973: Bogota Open, Los Lagartos Open

1974: Los Lagartos Open

1976: Kerrygolf International

1979: Venezuela Open

Ryder Cup Appearances: 11

Player: 1967, 1969, 1971, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1979

Captain: 1983, 1985, 1987, 1989


Rookie of the Year: 1962

Honorary Member The Royal and Ancient Golf Club: 2002