The Awards of the USGA: Bob Jones Award

The United States Golf Association’s mission is “The USGA promotes and conserves the true spirit of the game of golf as embodied in its ancient and honorable traditions. It acts in the best interests of the game for the continued enjoyment of those who love and play it.” as stated on

After 30 years as a golf lover and studying “its ancient and honorable traditions”, it’s easy to understand the gravity of the USGA’s charge.

With the U.S. Women’s Open coming in May and the U.S. and Senior Opens shortly after, TheGolfBallGuy will be celebrating the awards, championships, and museum of The United States Golf Association.

Bob Jones Award

Presented annually by the USGA since 1955


The Bob Jones Award is the USGA’s highest honor. It recognizes an individual who demonstrates the spirit, personal character and respect for the game exhibited by Jones, the winner of nine USGA championships.

The Bob Jones Award


Award Winners:
1955        Francis Ouimet1986       Jess Sweetser
1956       William C. Campbell1987       Tom Watson
1957        Mildred D. Zaharias1988       Isaac B. Grainger
1958       Margaret Curtis1989       Chi Chi Rodriguez
1959       Findlay S. Douglas1990       Peggy Kirk Bell
1960       Charles Evans Jr.1991       Ben Crenshaw
1961       Joseph B. Carr1992       Gene Sarazen
1962       Horton Smith1993       P.J. Boatwright Jr.
1963       Patty Berg1994       Lewis Oehmig
1964       Charles Coe1995       Herbert Warren Wind
1965       Glenna Collett Vare1996       Betsy Rawls
1966       Gary Player1997       Fred Brand Jr.
1967       Richard S. Tufts1998       Nancy Lopez
1968       Robert B. Dickson1999       Edgar Updegraff
1969       Gerald H. Micklem2000      Barbara McIntire
1970       Roberto de Vicenzo2001       Thomas Cousins
1971        Arnold Palmer2002      Judy Rankin
1972       Michael Bonallack2003       Carol Semple Thompson
1973        Gene Littler2004      Jackie Burke Jr.
1974       Byron Nelson2005       Nick Price
1975        Jack Nicklaus2006      Jay Haas
1976       Ben Hogan2007       Louise Suggs
1977        Joseph C. Dey Jr.2008      George H.W. Bush
1978       Bing Crosby & Bob Hope2009      O. Gordon Brewer Jr.
1979       Tom Kite2010       Mickey Wright
1980       Charles Yates2011       Lorena Ochoa
1981       JoAnne Carner2012       Annika Sorenstam
1982       William J. Patton2013       Davis Love III
1983       Maureen Ruttle Garrett2014       Payne Stewart
1984       R. Jay Sigel2015       Barbara Nicklaus
1985       Fuzzy Zoeller2016       Judy Bell
2017       Bob Ford

Source: Bob Jones Award Winners